Icelandic(IS)English (United Kingdom)

Iceland joined the Schengen states on March 25, 2001, an agreement of 26 states to abolish checks at their common borders on the movement of persons and facilitate the transport and movement of goods at those borders. In addition to Iceland, the member states are Belgium, Germany, France, Netherlands, Luxembourg, Denmark, Sweden, Finland, Norway, Italy, Austria, Spain, Portugal, Greece, Estonia, Lithuania, Latvia, Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Malta,Switzerland and Lichtenstein.

All persons requiring visas, not holding a valid Schengen visa in their travel document, must apply for a visa at the applicable embassy/consulate before travelling to the area. Embassies/consulates representing Iceland handle applications (see here)

Who needs a visa to visit Iceland?

Who does not need a visa to visit Iceland?

Where can you apply for a visa?

Visas may be granted for business trips, tourism, private reasons (family and friends), official visits, short term studies and for political, scientific, cultural, sports or religious events.

Reason for journey:


Visit to friends/relatives



Official visit

For political, scientific, cultural, sports or religious events or other reasons